The South Eastern Fire Brigade came into operation on the 14th  May, 1948 under the Fire Services Act, 1947 covering the counties of Berwick, East Lothian, Midlothian, Peebles, Roxburgh, Selkirk and West Lothian, and the county of the city of Edinburgh.   The Brigade continued until Regionalisation on on 16th May, 1975 when part of it went into the Central Region  Fire Brigade and the remainder formed Lothian and Borders Fire Brigade.
The brigade was administered by The South Eastern Scotland Fire Area Joint Committee consisting of fifteen members, eight of whom were from Edinburgh Corporation and one from each of the seven County Councils.

The structure of the brigade was :-

1    Firemaster
1    Assistant Firemaster (Deputy Firemaster)
2    Column Officers
3    Company Officers
1    Section Leader
4    Leading Firewomen
4    Firewomen



                                        Central Fire Station, Lauriston Place


1948 to 1962 Firemaster Alexander B Craig
1962 to 1970 Firemaster Frank Rushbrook
1970 to 1975 Firemaster James Anderson




  1948       1975  
1 Lauriston Place Edinburgh WT     Lauriston Place Edinburgh WT
2 Junction Place Leith WT     McDonald Road Edinburgh WT
3 Stockbridge Edinburgh WT     Crewe Toll Edinburgh WT
4 Angle Park Edinburgh WT     Sighthill WT
5 London Road Edinburgh WT     Marionville Edinburgh WT
6 Mussleburgh WT/RT     Mussleburgh  
7 Bathgate WT/RT     Bathgate WT/RT
8 Dalkeith WT/RT     Dalkeith  
9 Galashiels WT/RT     Galashiels WT/RT
10 Broxburn RT     Broxburn RT
11 Bo'ness RT     Bo'ness  
12 Linlithgow RT     Linlithgow RT
13 South Queensferry RT     South Queensferry RT
14 West Calder RT     West Calder RT
15 Penicuik RT     Penicuik RT
16 Tranent RT     Tranent RT
17 Haddington RT     Haddington RT
18 East Linton RT     East Linton RT
19 North Berwick RT     North Berwick RT
20 Dunbar RT     Dunbar RT
21 Peebles RT     Peebles RT
22 West Linton RT     West Linton RT
23 Innerleithen RT     Innerleithen RT
24 Coldstream RT     Coldstream RT
25 Duns RT     Duns RT
26 Eyemouth RT     Eyemouth RT
27 Hawick RT     Hawick  
28 Jedburgh RT     Jedburgh RT
29 Kelso RT     Kelso RT
30 Melrose RT     Melrose RT
31 Newcastletown RT     Newcastletown RT
32 Selkirk RT     Selkirk RT
      New station operational 7/3/1969   Livingston WT


Stations Opened by South Eastern Fire Brigade

Dunbar   30/1/1958
McDonald Road   17/6/1966
Marionville   11/6/1968
Crewe Toll   8/2/1969
Livingston 7/3/1969 21/3/1969
Whitburn   13/4/1974


If you know of any mistakes in this or have any additional information please let me know.


MAIN INDEX                            1948 INDEX