1 Pump Retained.


31/7/1968                    Main Street, ABERFOYLE. FK8 3UQ.          Photo



1940 to 1947              Leading Fireman James McLellan

1947 to 1962              Donald Crerar

1962 to ?                    Sub Officer T. Frame

? to 9/4/1992             Sub Officer C MacCallum

? to 2003                    Sub Officer L. Gilmour

? to ?                          Temporary Watch Manager Kerry Clow (there November 2012)



1973 GGS184E Commer/Carmichael WrT
  A618HMS Dodge G13/Fulton and Wylie WrL
  C872XLS Dodge G13/Fulton and Wylie WrL
1990 HLS636V Dodge G1313/Fulton and Wylie WrL
1992 C872XLS Dodge G1313/Fulton and Wylie WrL
1998 P480CMS Volvo FL6-14/Emergency One WrL
2011 Aug SN53LCX Volvo FLH/Saxon Volumax Cab WrL



1941 to 1948 National Fire Service
1948 to 1975 Perth and Kinross Fire Brigade
1975 to 1996 Central Region Fire Brigade
1996 to 2004 Central Scotland Fire Brigade
17/9/2004 to 2013 Central Scotland Fire and Rescue Service
1/4/2013 Scottish Fire and Rescue Service




The Perth and Kinross Fire Area Administration Scheme Order, 1948

                                                                                         Equipment                                                                                             Retained

                                                                                        1 Standard Towing                                                                              1 Leading Fireman
                                                                                        1 Light Trailer Pump                                                                            9 Firemen


Establishment 2000

                                                                                        Equipment                                                                                             Retained

                                                                                        1 Water Tender Ladder                                                                       1 Sub Officer
                                                                                                                                                                                                        2 Leading Firefighters
                                                                                                                                                                                                        7 Firefighters

Station Officers were in charge of retained stations until 1975 when the new Central Region Fire Brigade decided they didn’t want Retained Station Officers and all new Officers in Charge had the rank of Sub Officer. Existing Station Officers retained the rank until they retired.

26/1/2016 was Station S1, New National Call Sign is M21.



The Inflamed Villagers Got Their Fire Protection


 <PHOTO> Fireman who received long service medals during Wednesday’s inaugural ceremony at Aberfoyle. l. to r. Sub Officer T. Frame (Aberfoyle); Fireman M. Watson (Dunblane); Station Officer A. K. Robertson (Auchterarder); and ex Fireman S. Sinclair (Aberfoyle).
When County Councillor J B Robertson officially opened the new fire station in the West Perthshire tourist resort of Aberfoyle on Wednesday evening, the ceremony served to recall the formation of the first fire crew in this part of Rob Roy country.
The Fire Service does not have a very long history in the district. No record of any such service prior to the second world war has been found, but just after the outbreak of hostilities an AFS unit, consisting of a trailer pump, was allocated to the village and housed in the Bailie Nicol Jarvie Hotel.
It was envisaged that the pump would be towed by a private car, but in August, 1940, a serious blaze occurred-and the trailer pump wasn’t used! The fire was dealt with by the Stirling Brigade, stationed twenty miles away.

Protest Brought Action

This was enough to bring a protest from the residents of Aberfoyle and resulted in the first fire crew being formed.
The members of that crew were Leading Fireman James McLelland, and Firemen A. Cameron, D. Campbell, C McAdam, S Taylor, and D McLaren. Of these, only two – Mr Cameron and Mr McLaren – are still alive, and both were present at Wednesday’s inauguration.
In 1941, the Fire Service was nationalised and Aberfoyle became a small unit in a very large organisation.
The Perth and Kinross Brigade was formed on de-nationalisation, and in the summer of 1947 Mr Donald Crerar became Officer in Charge at Aberfoyle, holding that post for 15 years until his retiral in 1962. He, too, attended the mid week ceremony.
The Aberfoyle unit, housed in a completely new building on the main road, is now equipped with a modern fire appliance, catering especially for the needs of the area. The machine carries 400 gallons of water and is fitted with a pump capable of delivering 500 gallons per minute.
Rescue equipment for us at road accidents is also carried, together with all the normal fire fighting gear. In keeping with all brigade appliances, the Aberfoyle machine is fitted with radio for communication with headquarters control in Perth.
The present Officer in Charge is Mr. T. Frame who has filled the post since November, 1962, with Mr. W. Taylor as his deputy. Nine of the full complement of 10 fireman were on parade on Wednesday night.

Long Service Awards

In the course of the proceedings, Mr. John Kidd, chairman of the Joint Fire Committee, presented long service and good conduct medals – the qualifying period of service is 20 years – to the following recipients:- Sub Officer T. Frame, Aberfoyle (22years), Station Officer A. K. Robertson, Officer in Charge, Auchterarder (22 years), Ex-fireman S. Sinclair, Aberfoyle (21 years), and Fireman M. Watson, Dunblane (21 years).
(Perthshire Advertiser, August 3, 1968. Page 12.)

Flame Pacifiers in Rob Roy Country

<PHOTO> County Councillor J. B. Robertson opening the new fire station at Aberfoyle on Wednesday. Also seen are Mr. John Kidd and Hon. Treasurer W. M. S. Wood, chairman and vice chairman respectfully of Perth and Kinross Fire Committee; Firemaster A. Masson and his deputy, Mr. D. McMurtrie.
(Perthshire Advertiser, August 3, 1968. Page 28.)

It was reported that the Aberfoyle Fire Station had been opened on the evening of Wednesday, 31st July last by Councillor James B. Robertson of Aberfoyle. The Chairman thanked members of the committee for their attendance at the opening ceremony.
(Perth and Kinross Joint Fire Committee Meeting 2/9/1968)



If you know of any mistakes in this or have any additional information please let me know.


MAIN INDEX                         1975 INDEX                         CENTRAL SCOTLAND INDEX