Csfb.jpg (30738 bytes)




Central Region Fire Brigade was formed as a result of Local Government reform on the 16th May, 1975 from part of the former Central Area Fire Brigade, part of  The South Eastern Area Fire Brigade and part of Perth and Kinross Fire Brigade. In 1996 the name was changed to Central Scotland Fire Brigade with out boundary change. The Brigade covers the areas of Clackmannanshire, Falkirk and Stirling Councils an area of 2,652 Square Kilometres with a population of 281,600. The Brigade is governed by the Central Scotland Fire Board Fire Authority which consists of eleven members, three from Stirling Council, six from Falkirk Council and two from Clackmannanshire Council. They have adopted the motto "Protecting the Heart of Scotland"
On Friday the 17th September 2004 the Brigade changed it's name to Central Scotland Fire and Rescue Service, this was a name change only, there was no change in the area covered.

The brigade consists of:-

1 Wholetime Station
3 Wholetime/Retained Stations
11 Retained Stations
2 Volunteer Stations


23 Water Tender Ladders
2 Aerial Ladder Platforms
2 Operation Support Units
1 Incident Support Unit (Canteen Van)
1 Control Unit
1 Water Carrier

The Staff consists of:-

1 Firemaster
1 Deputy Firemaster
1 Assistant Firemaster
5 Divisional Officers
11 Assistant Divisional Officers
217 Wholetime Personnel
17 Control Room Staff
153 Retained Personnel
10 Volunteer Personnel
31 Civilian Staff

Personnel figures from 1998.



Central Scotland Fire Brigade

1975 to 1979 Firemaster P.S.Morrison
1979 to 1983 Firemaster H.Moran
1983 to 1984 Firemaster F.Wilton
1984 to 1996 Firemaster I S T Adam OBE QFSM GIFireE.

Central Scotland Fire and Rescue Service

1996 to 2000 Firemaster I S T Adam OBE QFSM GIFireE.
1/7/2000 to 19/2/2006 Firemaster John Early QFSM Bsc MIFireE MIOSH
February 2006 to 1/4/2010 Chief Fire Officer Steven Torrie QFSM
2/4/2010 to 31/3/2013 Chief Fire Officer Kenneth Taylor


1979 to 1984 Meiklehill House, KIRKINTILLOCH.
1984 to date Main Street, Maddiston, FALKIRK.   FK2 0LG


1975       2000  
Alloa W/T R/T   C1 Alloa W/T R/T
Tillicoultry R/T   C3 Tillicoultry R/T
Bo'ness W/T R/T   F1 Bo'ness W/T R/T
Denny R/T   F2 Denny R/T
Falkirk W/T R/T   F3 Falkirk W/T R/T
Larbert R/T   F4 Larbert W/T R/T
Slamannan R/T   F5 Slamannan R/T
Aberfoyle R/T   S1 Aberfoyle R/T
Balfron R/T   S2 Balfron R/T
Bridge of Allan R/T   S3 Bridge of Allan R/T
Callander R/T   S4 Callander R/T
Doune R/T   S5 Doune R/T
Dunblane R/T   S6 Dunblane R/T
Killin R/T   S7 Killin R/T
Stirling W/T R/T   S8 Stirling W/T
Dollar RT Closed 1986      
Crianlarich Mobile Vol   V1 Crianlarich R/T
Tyndrum Mobile Vol   V3 Tyndrum R/T
Lochernhead Non Mob Vol No personnel or equip. since 1992      
        M2AYF Control Room  


1975 to 1996 Central Region Fire Brigade
1996 to 17/9/2004 Central Scotland Fire Brigade (This was a name change only,  no area change).
17/9/2004 to Central Scotland Fire and Rescue Service (This was a name change only,  no area change).

Stations Opened

Bo'ness 23/7/1981
Denny 21/3/1990
Tyndrum September 1993
Crianlarich June 1999
Falkirk 27/9/1999
Callander 12/11/2004



12/6/2010    In the Queen's Brithday Honours list Watch Manager's James Allardice, Crianlarich and Allan Brodie, Tyndrum were awarded the Queen's Fire Service Medal.

16/10/2009    Chief Fire Officer Steven Torrie has asked the Joint Fire and Rescue Board for permission to retire and if approved he plans to retire on the 1st of April 2010. Mr Torrie has been in the Fire Service for 35 years starting in Lothian and Borders Fire Brigade and spending the last 3 years as CFO at Central Scotland Fire and Rescue Service.

As of the 1st of April 2009 the Volunteer stations at Crianlarich and Tyndrum have been upgraded to Retained Units.

Firemaster John Early is to retire around April 2006, his successor will be Mr S. Torrie currently Deputy Chief Fire Officer for Lothian & Borders Fire and Rescue Service.

Monday 31st October 2005, Deputy Firemaster Geoff Williams retired.



MAIN INDEX                            1975 INDEX